Go Back   Wolfdog.org forum > English > Off topic

Off topic About everything and about nothing - way how to pleasantly spent your free time...

Old 17-12-2007, 21:32   #1
Dacota

Default Are these books good?

Hi everybody!

I come from Germany, I'm 18 years old, and I have a question for you.
Is there anybody who knows these books:
"Wolf Hybrid" by Dorothy Prendergast
and
"Living with Wolfdogs - An Everyday Guide to a Lifetime Companionship"
"Wolfdog A-Z - Behaviour, Training & More" both books by Nicole Wilde.

I'm very interested in your opinions, whether it's worth to buy, because
I want to like to buy one of these books (or do you know a better one?) to my birthday .
I must add, that I have a lot of experiences with dogs and wolfdogs, too.
So I'm not a beginner.

Excuse me for my language, english is not my best.

Greetings,

Patricia
Dacota jest offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2007, 00:08   #2
Mirkawolf

Send a message via ICQ to Mirkawolf Send a message via Skype™ to Mirkawolf

I have "Living with Wolfdogs" by Nicole Wilde. Nice book, but she speaks about wolf-hybrids (aka crosses of wolves and huskies or German shepherds) of high wolf-blood content.
The book can tell you something, what to expect from living with high wolf blood contect wolf-hybrid, but it will not tell you anything about Czechoslovakian wolfdogs.
Nicole Wilde is American and she has no idea, as far as I am concerned, about existence of dog breed such as Czechoslovakian wolfdog, neither the wolfdogs she speaks about, have anything to do with our breed.

If you are thinking about getting Czechoslovakian wolfdog, there are much better books available. They will not be about Czechoslovakian wolfdogs either, but when it comes to understanding the dog behaviour, psychics and emotions, they will be great.