Go Back   Wolfdog.org forum > English > Living with a CzW....

Living with a CzW.... Stories as forewarnings for future owners.... everything about the character of Czechoslovakian Wolfdogs

Old 09-04-2011, 00:19   #1
Gypsy Wolf

Default Inter-dog behavior and vlcaks ispersing aggression

Hi all,
Just curious about vlcaks as a breed in regards to inter-dog behavior/aggession... I have been training dogs since 1991 - with a degree majoring in Animal Behavior - in a variety of different dog sports... anyway, dog-aggressive and "reactive" dogs have always been an issue I have dealt with as a dog trainer... there are many different methods for dealing with the problem - some of which involve exposing the reactive/aggressive dog to a neutral dog.
I have found that my vlcaks are EXCELLENT "neutral" dogs... their pack drive makes them a breed that likes other dogs (in general) and wants to dissipate aggression and encourage positive, friendly interaction. Their body language is unquestionable to other dogs, and it seems to me that the vlcaks very easily communicate their lack of aggression to the reactive dog - as well as their desire to interact appropriately.
Having limited experience with the breed, I am wondering if this is a characteristic of the breed in general or just that I am lucky for now?
I do see that my female will likely end up being a little dominant as she matures, so she may not be the most "neutral" dog when exposed to another dominant bitch, and with some reactive intact male dogs I work with, I would not expect them to warm up to my male vlcak, as he is also intact...